theAussieSvensk

A Swede in Aussie land

New year, new possibilities

Leave a comment

When a new year begins, I tend to, like many others, reflect a whole lot. Most of all about the past year, but also about life in general. Every year you learn something new, a lesson that you’ll find useful for the rest of your life – either if you’re aware of it or not. So I reflect to become aware of it. It’s so much easier to use the learnt lesson that way.

This year I’ve learnt quite a lot, I think. A lot about myself, but even more about the people around me. There comes a time in life when you realise how important the people in your life are. And therefore, how important it is to surround you with people who know how important you are to them. I miss my family and friends back in Sweden so much, but it’s not as hard and difficult when you know that they will always be there for you, no matter where you are.

In all of this I’ve also had the great privilege to learn what it truly means to love and be loved in a completely unconditional way (not just by your parents, that should always be unconditional, of course). I’m lucky enough to have found that love, and every day I am incredibly grateful for it.

I have also come to terms with other relationships in my life – gained insight in what they really are and if they actually do me good or just more harm. Therefore, I have decided to let go of a few people this year. But that’s what happens when it’s not working anymore – no matter how good friends, or how strong your relationship used to be. What I mostly learned about all that is that it actually felt good – relieving. Before, I have been so worried about these things, about hurting someone, and instead I would rather not do anything about it. But now I’ve realised that sometimes that’s the path life leads you into, and that’s ok. You would probably find that the other part feels the same way anyway. Sometimes it’s just better to let go and keep the good memories, then to force something that doesn’t exist any longer. Above all, sometimes you have to see to your own wellbeing.

A couple of times I have, sadly enough, been forced to let go. When someone’s time is up for now. That has harder, of course. And that is something I’m still processing, despite the fact that one of them is over six months ago. But sometimes the heart doesn’t quite heal, it just learns how to deal with the loss.

Despite some of these hard moments, it’s been a fantastic year over all. A year full of love and happiness, but also a lot of missing and sorrow. But I guess you have to have a little bit of everything to understand the wonderful. 2014 has helped me grow as a person and I’m closing its door with a grateful but firm hand, and I open 2015 with a clear, determined mind. Something happened there at midnight, and suddenly I felt as if I saw things through new eyes. I have let go of the things I can’t do anything about and now I’m taking the bull by its horns to fix the things I can fix. It’s time to pick myself up and get back on track – make sure to climb up the ladder instead of falling down, and do what I do best: shape my own life. We’re all our own life’s sculptors and I know (when it comes to most things at least) what I want with my life. Now I’ll make sure to look forward and take what I deserve.

 

On a sidenote, I have also decided to start a new, daily tradition this year. I read about something called a “happiness jar”. Every night, you write down something that made you happy during the day, and then you put the little note in a glass jar or a nice box or whatever you want. Even during bad days you will find something that’ll make you smile. Maybe it’s as “small” as the way the rain smells or how your cat strokes itself against your leg. And if you’re having a bad day, you could always stick your hand down the jar and pick up a note to remind you of how beautiful life really is.

 

This is the whole reason why I love New Year’s – it’s a new year, a new start and a perfect reason to make things the way you want them to be!

“We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.”

– Edith Lovejoy Pierce

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

När ett nytt år tar sin början tenderar jag, liksom många andra att reflektera en hel del. Framför allt över det gångna året, förstås, men också över livet i allmänhet. Varje år lär man sig något nytt, någon lärdom som man kommer ha nytta av under resten av livet – vare sig man är medveten om det eller inte. Så jag reflekterar för att bli medveten om det. Det blir så mycket lättare att använda lärdomen då.

I år har jag lärt mig ganska mycket, känner jag. Mycket om mig själv men desto mer om folk i min omgivning. Det kommer en tid i livet när man inser hur viktiga människorna i ens liv är. Och hur viktigt det är att omge sig med människor som vet hur viktig man är för dem också. Jag saknar min familj och mina vänner hemma i Sverige otroligt mycket, men det blir inte lika svårt och jobbigt när man vet att de alltid finns där för en, oavsett var man befinner sig.

I allt det här har jag också haft den stora förmånen att lära mig vad det verkligen innebär att älska och bli älskad på ett totalt ovillkorligt sätt (inte bara av dina föräldrar, den sortens kärlek ska alltid vara ovillkorlig, förstås). Jag har haft turen att hitta den kärleken, och varje dag är jag otroligt tacksam över det.

Jag har också kommit till insikt över vissa andra relationer i mitt liv – insikt över vad de verkligen är och om de verkligen gör mig nytta eller mer skada. Därför har jag bestämt mig för att släppa taget om några få personer i år. Det blir så när man inte känner att det fungerar längre – oavsett hur goda vänner man varit förut. Vad jag framför allt lärt mig av det är att det faktiskt känns bra – lättande. Förut har jag varit så orolig över sådant, över att såra någon, och har därför hellre låtit bli. Men nu har jag insett att ibland är det den stigen livet leder en på, och då gör det inte så mycket. Förmodligen är det samma känsla för den andra parten. Ibland är det helt enkelt bättre att släppa taget och behålla de goda minnena än att forcera något som inte längre finns.
Framför allt så måste man ibland se till sitt eget välmåendes bästa.

Vid ett par sorgliga tillfällen har jag också, tyvärr, tvingats släppa taget. När någons tid är slut för den här gången. Det har varit svårare, förstås. Och det är något som jag bearbetar fortfarande, trots att det ena fallet är över sex månader sedan. Men i vissa fall läker inte hjärtat riktigt, det bara lär sig att hantera saknaden.

Trots vissa tunga moment, så har det varit ett fantastiskt år. Ett år fullt av kärlek och glädje, men även saknad och en del sorg. Men jag antar att man måste ha lite av allt för att förstå det underbara. 2014 har hjälpt mig växa som människa och jag stänger dess dörr med en fast hand och öppnar 2015 med ett bestämt sinne. Någonting hände där vid tolvslaget och plötsligt kändes det som om jag såg saker och ting med nya ögon. Jag har släppt taget om sådant jag inte kan göra något åt och nu tar jag tjuren vid hornen och fixar sånt som jag vet att jag kan fixa. Det är dags att jag plockar upp mig själv och ser till att klättra uppför stegen istället för att falla neråt och gör det jag är allra bäst på: forma mitt eget liv. Vi är alla vår eget livs skulptörer och jag vet (när det gäller det mesta i alla fall) vad jag vill med livet. Nu ska jag se till att blicka framåt och ta det jag förtjänar.

 

Jag har också bestämt mig för att starta en ny, daglig tradition i år. Jag läste om något som kallas ”lyckoburk”. Varje kväll skriver man ner någonting under dagen som gjort en lycklig, och så lägger man den lilla lappen i en stor glasburk eller fin låda eller vad man vill. Även under dåliga dagar finner man alltid någonting som får en att le. Det kanske är något så ”litet” som hur regnet doftar eller hur din katt stryker sig mot ditt ben.
Och om man någon gång har en dålig dag kan man alltid stoppa ner handen i burken och plocka upp en av lapparna för att påminna sig själv om hur vackert livet faktiskt är.

 

Det här är hela anledningen till varför jag älskar Nyår – det är ett nytt år, en ny start och en perfekt anledning att förvandla saker till vad du vill att de ska vara!

“Vi öppnar boken. Sidorna är tomma. Vi fyller själva på med ord. Boken heter ”Möjligheter” och första kapitlet är nyårsdagen.”
– Edith Lovejoy Pierce

Author: Johanna Rosberg

Hi and thanks for visiting my page! I'm Johanna (you can call me Jo) and I'm a writer and positive thinker. I'm writing to show the world my apporach to life, and hopefully that way I'll be able to help other people striving for their dreams. I hope to bring joy and happiness and a little bit of motivation and inspiration to the big world. So visit my blog (johannarosberg.wordpress.com), enjoy, and please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

