theAussieSvensk

A Swede in Aussie land

The awkward hello

Leave a comment

Jag har varit riktigt, riktigt dålig på det här med bloggen nu ett bra tag. Förlåt, till alla kära, lojala följare, som trots allt är några stycken. Hoppas att jag inte tappat er. Jag lovar (återigen) att jag ska bättra mig!
Så här, på en onsdag-mittiveckan, kan jag bjuda på lite kulturkrock! Jag har nämligen lagt märke till någonting som för mig, som kommer från Sverige – artigheten och korrekthetens land, näst efter England, typ – är ytterst märkligt och förvånande här i Australien.

Ve och fasa, men man tar inte varandra i hand här! Vad ska detta betyda?!

Nej, men ärligt talat, folk hälsar inte på varandra genom att ta i hand. Det är ju någonting jag växt upp med att man alltid gör. Vare sig man träffar en ny person som bara är en kompis kompis eller något, eller om man kommer på en arbetsintervju eller om man så träffar, jag vet inte, statsministern kanske?
Men nej, inte i Australien. Varför kan man ju då fråga sig? Är det ett sätt att visa att här är vi alldeles för laidback och avslappnade för att vara så formella – är det helt enkelt för att slita sig bort från Storbritanniens storebrorsande och sjukt formella sätt att vara och leva och hälsa? Eller är det bara för att varenda en i detta gigantiska land har bakterieskräck?

Jag vet faktiskt inte. Så därför antar jag att vi bara kan gissa. Min mest sannolika teori idag är att det är så satans varmt här och att folk helt enkelt inte har lust att dela handsvett med varandra. Låter mest rimligt i mina öron.

Händelsen som triggade hela den här tanken hos mig var när jag, under gårdagen, träffade typ chefens chef, eller vad jag ska kalla henne, på jobbet. Hon bara stod där, typ fem meter ifrån mig och sa hej, liksom. Hade jag varit i Sverige hade jag trott att hon tyckte illa om mig och hade kanske till och med börjat undra om jag luktade konstigt, men sedan jag kommit hit har jag förstått att det nästan är konstigt att faktiskt ta någon i handen. Jag har själv gjort det misstaget några gånger, och blicken man får säger mer än tusen ord. Ni vet när någon ser på er och tyst undrar om du egentligen är riktigt klok eller om det är bäst att sakta backa undan innan något händer. Och så sträcker de sakta fram handen och skakar din med ett så lätt handtag som möjligt.

Det är intressant sånt här (tycker jag i alla fall) och jag ska nog lyckas gå till botten med vad den verkliga orsaken till detta beteende är (om det nu, mot förmodan, skulle visa sig att min handsvetts-teori är felaktig)!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________

I’ve been really, really bad at this whole blog thing for quite a while now. I’m sorry, to my dear, loyal followers. I hope I haven’t lost you just yet. I promise (once again) that I will get better!
So, on this Wednesday-inthemiddleof theweek, I will provide you with a cultural clash! You see, I have noticed something that for me, coming from Sweden – the land of politeness and correctness, next after the UK, pretty much – is pretty odd and surprising, here in Australia.

My goodness, people don’t take each other’s hands here! What does this mean?!

No, but honestly, people don’t shake hands when they meet for the first time. That’s something I’ve been brought up to always do. It doesn’t matter if you meet someone new that’s just a friend of a friend or something, or if you’re entering a job interview, or if you meet, oh, I don’t know, the prime minister maybe?
But no, not here in Australia. Why, one might ask? Is it a way to show that we are way too laidback and relaxed here to be that formal – is it simply a way to break away from UK’s big brothering and insanely formal way of being and living and greeting? Or is it just because every single person in this enormous country is terribly afraid of bacteria?

I really don’t know. So I guess we can only assume. My most likely theory to date is that it is so bloody hot here that people simply don’t want to exchange hand sweat with each other. Sounds like the most reasonable explanation to me.

What triggered this thought in my head, was when I met my boss’ boss, or what to call her, yesterday at work. She just stood there, about five meters away from me and kind of said hi. If I’d have been in Sweden I would have thought she disliked me or maybe that I smelled weird, but since I came here I have come to the understanding that it’s kind of weird to actually shake someone’s hand. I have done that mistake myself a few times, and the look you get says more than a thousand words. You know when someone looks at you and they’re quietly wondering whether you’re actually sane or if they should start backing up slowly, before something’s gonna break loose. And then they slowly reach out their hand to you and shake your hand with the lightest shake possible.

These kind of things are really interesting (at least I think so) and I will make sure to get to the bottom of what the real reason for this behaviour is (that is, if it would turn out that my hand sweat theory is incorrect)!

Author: Johanna Rosberg

Hi and thanks for visiting my page! I'm Johanna (you can call me Jo) and I'm a writer and positive thinker. I'm writing to show the world my apporach to life, and hopefully that way I'll be able to help other people striving for their dreams. I hope to bring joy and happiness and a little bit of motivation and inspiration to the big world. So visit my blog (johannarosberg.wordpress.com), enjoy, and please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

