theAussieSvensk

A Swede in Aussie land

Australia is a bit special…

3 Comments

Jag har lagt märke till en lite lustig sak sedan jag kom till Australien. Det har fått mig att fundera över om de tycker att de är lite extra speciella eller om företagen som tillverkar dessa produkter tycker att australier är lite “speciella”, om ni förstår vad jag menar…

Nej, alvarligt talat, jag skojar bara! Jag älskar Aussies och tycker att de är toppen, men jag kan bara inte fatta varför vissa märken och produkter får ett annat namn när de kommer till Australien. Är det för att vi är på andra sidan planeten( för då blir allting liksom upp och ner, typ)? Eller skulle folk helt enkelt vägra att köpa en hamburgare från Hungry Jack’s om det istället hette Burger King här, precis som i resten av världen? Jag tror ju inte det, de verkar liksom inte riktigt vara den typen av folk som är svåra att göra till lags…

Det är ett mysterium som jag helt enkelt inte kan lösa. Ännu!

Så förutom Burger King som kallas Hungry Jack’s har vi också tandkräms- och tandborstmärket Aquafresh som döpts om till Macleans (kanske får man renare tänder av Macleans??) och halstabletterna Strepsils kallas Strepfen. Sist men inte minst, har vi Axe som här heter Lynx (som på engelska betyder lodjur). Kanske tar det fram den inre vildkatten i män?! Wowza!

Se bilden nedan om ni är intresserade av att själva jämföra och kanske få er ett gott skratt om ni har lika töntig humor som jag.

Puss så länge!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

I’ve noticed quite a funny thing since I got to Australia. It has made me wonder if they think they’re a little extra special or if the companies making these products think Australians are a bit “special” if you know what I mean…

No, seriously, just kidding! I love Aussies and think they’re great, but I just can’t see the reason to why certain brands get a different name in Australia. Is it because we’re on the other side of the planet (because then everything kind of ends up being, like, upside down)? Or would people just simply refuse to buy a hamburger off Hungry Jack’s if it was called Burger King here like everywhere else in the world? I don’t think so, they don’t really seem like the kind of people that are hard to please…

It’s a mystery that I simply cannot solve. Yet!

So besides from Burger King being called Hungry Jack’s we’ve also got the toothpaste/toothbrush brand Aquafresh renamed to Macleans (maybe Macleans gives you cleaner teeth??) and the lozenges Strepsils are called Strepfen. Last but not least, Axe is called Lynx here (though, it is actually called Lynx in the UK as well). Maybe to bring out the inner wild cat in men?! Wowza!

See the picture below if you’re interested in comparing the brands yourself, and maybe get a good laugh out of too, if you’ve got as lame humour as I do.

xx

 

använda
(I used the old logo for Burger King, just to make you see the point. Hungry Jack’s is apparently a little more old fashioned.)

Author: Johanna Rosberg

Hi and thanks for visiting my page! I'm Johanna (you can call me Jo) and I'm a writer and positive thinker. I'm writing to show the world my apporach to life, and hopefully that way I'll be able to help other people striving for their dreams. I hope to bring joy and happiness and a little bit of motivation and inspiration to the big world. So visit my blog (johannarosberg.wordpress.com), enjoy, and please let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Australia is a bit special…

  1. Som föredetta Aussie kan jag dela med mig av lite kunskap. När Burger King emigrerade Down Under fanns det redan ett företag som hette Burger King. Av rättsliga skäl fick kedjan alltså namnet Hungry Jacks. ^^

  2. Som föredetta Aussie kan jag dela med mig av lite kunskap. När BK emigrerade Down Under fanns det redan ett företag där som hette Burger King . Av rättsliga skäl fick BK alltså heta Hungry Jacks istället ^^

Leave a Reply

